Just Like Honey

Been busy with everything BUT work lately. Sean’s project I’m helping with for the CMA goes up this week-ish, finally getting off arse to try and show work outside my house, one of my best friends is getting married this weekend plus I want to read everything ever written ever.

(Have we made sleep optional yet?)

After making a few rounds to the galleries this past week I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means to show work, and how space for interactions are made/legitimized/etc. So far my most promising prospect is a tattoo parlor cum gallery. I keep flashing back to a  year or so ago, when Columbus artist Dina Sherman visited Ball State to talk about her work, specifically the IMA Gallery . Her main topic was how to ‘take over space’ not normally used for art (especially if not used at all).And while yeah, a show in a “real” gallery or museum would be nice, I really like the idea of unexpected encounters with art or at least slightly more unusual arenas in which to start the conversation.

completely unedited picture of the fantastic light we had after that big storm last week.

Leave a Reply

