Confessions from an Authorized Museum Lurker

Confessions from an Authorized Museum Lurker

About a month ago, I mentioned my transformation from intern to sometimes paid Authorized Museum Lurker. Since then, I’ve  slept almost thirty times, signed a new lease, started about two more projects, finished (or started finishing) three other projects, spent a week filling in for Chris in Adventure Out,* started training for a marathon- Oh yeah, and I forgot, got another job. Emily, the Wonder Room Facilitator has moved to take advantage of what sounds like an awesome opportunity, and as a result, I am now the Wonder Room Facilitator, adding two more days to my (paid!?) Authorized Lurking.

(dramatization. Real uniform does not include magic bracelets or hotpants. Lasso of Truth coming soon though.)

Speaking of business, the CMA and Wonder- Got to help with the early childhooh educator’s conference, The Wonder of Learning. Wow. I just- …yeah. The Italians speaking Italian! Sean being brilliant! Mama Suz’s fortune telling tent!
I’m still processing the day. If you, like I, had never really heard of Reggio Emelia, read this for a brief overview. I’ll save you from all my notes (read:gushing) that I took. Unless you’re really interested, in which case, let me know. We can get together and freak out over statements like “communicative dynamic between the (pre)school and the city” and “Everyday experience-> intimate explorations of everyday, quiet wonder”!
I’ll make tea.

And while I’m on it, about a month ago I wrote a post about hearing Nina Simon speak. I ended up trashing it as it was mostly just me waving my arms and fangirling out about how much I love her (and you will understand once you check her blog. You will.). But last week she called the CMA a “world class museum.

Boosh.

Leave a Reply

