Laura Hruska- you know the drill.

The next installment in the great Correspondence Collaboration Extravonanza:

Postcard 8, from me to you.

Decided to sit down yesterday and finally finish the drawing that took me two weeks to think of, only to find that I hated it. It was in the same vein as my Pulp photos (and the guest post I mentioned in the not too distant past), and while I was excited when  I started, I spent most of the morning getting madder and madder. At everything: the drawing, the color, the concept- God knows I love ‘clever’ art, but this just felt too forced.

Hm, pencil looking overworked. And also stupid. Light washes? AH! NO! Take it back, maybe some blackblack around the eyes and- NO! quick, make it messy? Like on purpose?? WHY??? WHY DO YOU HATE ME?!

Or

Hey, this soup’s okay, but a little bland. Maybe I should add a little salt. Maybe a little more? Just a leedle more? Damn, too much. I’ll just add more liquid. Oh, now it’s bland again. I’ll just add the teenyweenytinymeenyminymoeiest pinch of salt….G’dammittosalty.

Here’s the thing about art, though- I’m not getting paid, in fame or legal tender, and if I make a less than perfect/clever/significant object, I still get to keep all my fingers. I personally don’t believe in art without hard work, but if all element of fun is gone from the making, how fun can the looking be?

So that’s what this is: The better part of a day spent listening to a book on tape, and sewing (because I felt like some muthafuckin needle-craft) an image from an old biology book I’ve held onto for years (waiting for the ‘right’ time to use it) onto a plain piece of paper. Master piece? No. But it felt good.

detail. (what is it about thread-gore that's more disturbing than real-gore? there's something there.)

*Maybe you’ve had a similar experience? Tell us about it in the comments. We can comiserate then later french braid each other’s hair and sing into our hairbrushes.
One thought on “Laura Hruska- you know the drill.

  1. Hi! I wanted to come visit and say thank you for visiting Childhood Trauma and losing some time in there that could’ve been productive elsewhere because that’s basically the story of my life.

    I clicked all around your blog though, and oooh’d and aaaah’d over all the work you have displayed. I’m always really impressed with people who have an artisitic qualities. I occasional make Paint drawings for the blog, but uh, that’s about it.

    Also, I stared at the thread gore for a minute just going, “ewwww.” That would be an epic cover to a Goosebumps book. Just sayin’.

    Well, thanks again for your visit and comment! See ya around. 😉

    Lor

Leave a Reply

