Ramblings and Goings-on – the art of omphaloskepsis

The past week or so has made me feel really proud to live where I do.

Last weekend I went to the DewDropper’s Sweetheart Dance. If you’ve never heard the Dew Droppers, or danced for hours in an empty warehouse with a crowd of friends and strangers and paper hearts in the middle of winter, I highly recommend it. The only cloud over the whole night is the fact that apparently, there were delicious treats mere feet from where I was dancing that escaped my notice. C’est la vie.

This weekend I went to Columbus Museum of Art’s Game Show 4. * If you’ve never been to a Game Show before, I’m not sure I can do the event justice with mere words- Imagine combining creativity challenges (fought for real prizes) with slightly inebriated adults and lots of sequins, all set to the tune of 70’s game show theme music. And I won’t even try to describe the magic that is Susie Starliner:

In all seriousness, though, it was really awesome to see two, really great, big and complicated creative endeavors pulled off so successfully and to see so many (and so many different types) of people enjoying them so thoroughly.
Totally warmed my geeky heart.

AND- this week I’m going to this and this. And you should too.
(Especially Project Pivot’s Out on a Limb. I’ve been told it was originally conceptualized as an ‘awkwardness carnival.’ And if there’s one thing that I’m all about it’s awkward.)

win!

 

*I donated a prize – a pinhole photography session/workshop. I’m not sure if the winner of said prize was too thrilled about it, but I’ve decided that even if not, I’m going to hold the session/workshop anyway. I’ll keep you posted on where/when that happens in case anyone else is interested.
Leave a Reply

