[am I the only one who think the word ‘chard’ sounds vaugely dirty?]

[am I the only one who think the word ‘chard’ sounds vaugely dirty?]

I’ve mentioned on here before that after art (and cats, and sci fi, and lost causes, and soapboxes) gardening- specifically gardening things I can eat- is high on my list of passions. In my dreams, I’ve started a gardening blog a lá YouGrowGirl where I write self deprecatingly about the trials and triumphs of urban gardening- which eventually leads to a book deal, a string of community gardens across the Midwest and the eventual vacating of my day job to spend my days painting, growing and writing.

Since this dream is about as likely right now as my other dream of building a time machine and joining a Japanese all girl leather-clad 90’s punk ensemble,I indulge in small doses. Like documenting this complimentary-colored chard that, despite an epic battle with flea beetles, survived long enough to become dinner last night.

Cat Lynch 2012

om nom.

CLynch 2012

George loves him some greens

CLynch 2012

seriously a pretty plant. planning on growing a ton more just for the visual.

The chard ended up being part of a chard-apple-onion frittata from Lynn Rosetto-Casper’s book How to Eat Supper.

(No pictures of the finished product because, as with most of my cooking, the finished product was not nearly as pretty as the ingredients.)

One thought on “[am I the only one who think the word ‘chard’ sounds vaugely dirty?]

  1. Pingback: my ‘dirt’y little secret | When Sheep Go Moo

Leave a Reply

