Top or Bottom Tuesday; Map as Metaphor.

Top or Bottom Tuesday; Map as Metaphor.

This weekend reminded me: I hate driving.

Not even for any good reason like ‘it’s bad for the earth’ or ‘it’s boring’. No, I hate driving because on a good day I have all the directional sense of a shaken hamster. There’s also a direct correlation for me between panic and a decrease in cognitive functioning- the faster I travel, the more pressure I feel to know where I’m going, the more I panic, the more wrong turns I make, which in turn makes me feel even more pressure to figure out where I am, which in turn makes me panic more.

So it’s little wonder I’m a sucker for art about mapping.
Also been thinking a lot about displaying pseudoscientific data in a notevenpseudoscientific way. But more on that later, let’s look at some ART;

Jessica Rankin ‘Flat Land’ 2008
via

VS

Katie Lewis, 201 Days
via. (definitely worth reading the statement behind these)

“I feel, sometimes in the world, a little lost, and that the world is really big. By tracing this minutia, it’s a way of doing the impossible, trying to represent the world.” –Ingrid Calame

Go!

One thought on “Top or Bottom Tuesday; Map as Metaphor.

Leave a Reply

