Teeth and Funerals; anxieties explored. (also a t.t.b. update)

Teeth and Funerals; anxieties explored. (also a t.t.b. update)

Remember that mysterious, shaky photobooth photo of a work in progress posted back in, what- June?

Tada!

CLynch 2012

‘By the (cold)sweat of my teeth’ Cat Lynch, watercolor and thread, 2012

Finally finished after way too long dragging my feet.

Also, finished the first in what I hope to be a series of 25 funereal bouquets:

CLynch 2012

Cat Lynch, watercolor, 2012

I spend years of my life scoffing the work of ‘fruit and flower’ painters (a lá Janet Fish) only to find myself painting bouquets. I keep telling myself that I’m sacrificing- that it’s all for the sake of my dark idea, that it’s all really, very conceptual,that it just happens to be about flowers- but really they’re just flowers (so far). And I’m quite enjoying them.*

Speaking of making things, I’ve decided to go on a Tuesday Top or Bottom (ttb) hiatus, at least until the Outside/In opening is over.  I realize that it’s only a once a week obligation, I realize that it’s not really even an obligation (that anyone’s holding me to) and I realize it’s the height of vanity to assume that anyone other than me notices when it’s not there. It is, however, a Thing To Do By a Certain Time, of which I have more than enough and about which I may be panicking a bit.
Does this mean I’m not going to post at all until then? Doubtful. (The boyfriend and the cats can only listen to my ramblings for so long). In fact, knowing me, I’ll probably find two pieces of are that are perfect for each other and forget that I’ve decided to shelf ttb for a while and post anyway.
I just have a tendency to take on too many projects and Things and have learned to give myself permission not to Do them so that I may breathe at regular intervals. And if something’s gotta be put aside, I’d rather it be writing about art, instead of making art.

 

She said at the end of a wordy log.

*(What’s next- existential bowls of fruit?)

 

3 thoughts on “Teeth and Funerals; anxieties explored. (also a t.t.b. update)

  1. Pingback: Broken Teeth – Loving Simplicity

Leave a Reply

