Postcard Collective – Summer 2013

Postcard Collective – Summer 2013

By some crazy alignment of planets, I actually managed to get all of my submissions for this season’s postcard exchange done AND done early. This may or may not be related to the fact that 90% of the process could be done while watching a movie….Or the fact that I’m basically outsourcing the other artists in the exchange to do my job for me.

pcc_Summer2013_1

Click on the image to see the rest of it…

In all truth, with this season’s exchange being ‘Exchange,” I wanted to create something that would facilitate a further and more personal exchange between the other artists and I. Originally I had thought of exchanging seeds (since it is that time of the year when I want to spend every minute sticking things in dirt and watching plantmagic), however a brief google search led me to the conclusion that doing so, outside the US was Not Okay. While thinking outloud about this problem, a very smart friend of mine suggested dirt and it was a total AHA moment.

I’ve been researching mourning, death rituals and funerals at work* and immediately my mind went to Antigone.What has always struck me as most poignant is the way destiny depends on what one woman does with dirt. It’s past my bedtime** so I’ll try not to wax too poetic here, but damn- what a great image; honor, divine justice, life, death, the very workings of fate itself all held in a handful of dust.
Just. Neat.

More images to come as people (hopefully) send their own sacrifices in.

Also, a sneak peek into my very fancy photo studio:

What? The light's best in there!

What? The light’s best in there!

*For real and it is awesome.
**10pm
Leave a Reply

